Junior Provincial Champions Declared

lkerr Competitions

The Junior Men’s and Women’s Provincial Champions were declared Sunday.  The Tanner Horgan rink (Horgan, Nicholas Servant, Jacob Horgan, Maxime Blais, and Coach Gerry Horgan) earned the Junior Men’s title at the provincial event hosted at the Longlac Curling Club.  Horgan beat the Jordan Potter rink (Port Arthur CC) 6-4 in the final game.  Horgan also handed Potter his only loss in the round robin event.

On the Women’s side, the Krysta Burns rink (Burns, Leah Hodgson, Sara Guy, Laura Masters, and Coach Rodney Guy) earned their title at the Fort William CC with a perfect 7-0 record in the round robin, and defeated the Robin Beaudry rink 5-3 in  the final.

Both of the winning teams represent the Idylwylde G&CC.  They will go on to represent Northern Ontario at the M&M Meat Shops Canadian Juniors in Liverpool, NS January 16-26, 2014.

IMG_1215_web DSC_1888_web