

OCCTRS - Ontario Curling Council Team Ranking System Rules 2013-2014

- Ontario wheelchair curling teams registered with the Ontario Curling Council can earn points from approved bonspiels, tournaments and playdowns for recognized championships.
- 2 To collect points any 3 of the 4 players registered with the Ontario Curling Council, must be on the ice for the points to be valid. (Only registered Ontario teams can collect OCCTRS points)
- 3 The event must have a minimum of 3 all-wheelchair teams competing using WCF eligibility rules for Wheelchair Curling
- 4 At least two teams in the field must be registered with the Ontario Curling Council in order for points to be awarded for the event.
- 5 Teams must meet WCF guidelines for Wheelchair curlers, specifically:
- a. Each team must be comprised of mixed gender
- b. Wheelchair Curling should be restricted to individuals with significant impairments in lower leg/gait function i.e. spinal injury,cerebral palsy,multiple sclerosis,double leg amputation etc., who usually require a wheelchair for daily mobility. (More specifically, those who are non-ambulant or can walk only very short distances). Determination of minimum disability and appropriate classification shall be made by authorized international sports classifiers.
- 6 The 2013-2014 Season is defined as May 30,2013 to April 30,2014.

OCCTRS Registered teams as of December 6, 2013

1 Ilderton Curling Club (London-OCA)	Mike Munro, Katie Paialunga, Mark Ideson, Christine Lavallee
2 Toronto Cricket, Skating&C.C. (OCA)	Shauna Petrie,Megan McMurchy,Joanna Bos,Dal Wrigley
³ Fort William C.C.(Thunder Bay-NOCA)	Gino Sonego, Doug Dean, Chris Provenzano, Lola Graham
4 Ilderton Curling Club (London-OCA)	Gilbert Blanchette,Ron Van Goethem,Ian Van Heteren, Faith Fitt-Wilson
⁵ Bradford C.C. (Bradford-OCA)	Ken Gregory, Collinda Joseph, Jon Thurston, Doug Morris
6 Ilderton Curling Club (London-OCA)	Tony Reynen, Shannon Wilcox, Jim Law, Edgar Guzman
7 Peterborough Curling Club(OCA)	Chris Rees, Carl Bax, Alec Denys, Martha Gustafson
⁸ Kenora C.C. (NOCA)	Wayne Ficek, Sarah Lashbrook, Chester Draper, Denise Miault
⁹ Sudbury C.C. (NOCA)	Rick Prudhomme, Dennis Duclos, Norm Martel, Linda Kontunen
¹⁰ RA Curling Club (Ottawa-OCA)	Jamie Eddy, Andre Beaudin, Jodi Hoar, Ross Nicholson

Fixed Point Total Events

1 Playdowns

Eligible playdowns include:

- a. The Ontario or Northern Ontario Wheelchair Curling Championship conducted by the OCA (Ontario Curling Association) or the NOCA (Northern Ontario Curling Association) leading to the Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship conducted by the CCA (Canadian Curling Association).
- b. The Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship conducted by the CCA
- c. The World Wheelchair Curling Championship conducted by the WCF (World Curling Federation).
- d. The Ontario Winter Games conducted by the Sport Alliance of Ontario
- e. The ParaSport Ontario Winter Games conducted by ParaSport Ontario.

Playdown Points are allocated as follows:

OCA or NOCA Wheelchair Curling Championship, Ontario Winter Games and ParaSport Ontario Winter Games

Winner 15.0 Second place 10.0 Third place 6.0 Fourth place 4.0

Games during the Round Robin are worth 1.0 points per win for teams not making the playoffs.

If teams are tied in the final Round Robin standings, the results of games between the tied teams will be the 1st tiebreaker to rank the teams. If above tiebreaker method doesn't break the tie then SBTRP (Skill Based Team Ranking Process) final results will be used (if available).

CCA Canadian Wheelchair Curling Championship

Winner 40.0 Second place 30.0 Third place 25.0 Fourth place 20.0

Games during the Round Robin are worth 2.0 points per win for teams not making the playoffs.

World Wheelchair Curling Championship (WCF event)

Winner 40.0 Second place 30.0 Third place 25.0 Fourth place 20.0

Games during the Round Robin are worth 2.0 points per win for teams not making the playoffs.

Paralympics (IPC event)

Winner 45.0 Second place 35.0 Third place 30.0 Fourth place 25.0

Games during the Round Robin are worth 3.0 points per win for teams not making the playoffs.

Other Events:

Other events eligible for points under the OCCTRS must have an all-wheelchair curlers division comprising of at least 3 teams.

At least two teams in the field must be registered with the Ontario Curling Council in order for points to be awarded for the event Cathy Kerr Memorial Bonspiel (Competitive Wheelchair Division)
Wheelchair Curling Regional Games Bonspiel at Collingwood (Wheelchair Division)
Pat "O" Reid Memorial Bonspiel (Wheelchair Division)
Thunder Bay ParaSport Winter Games Qualifier
Utica International Bonspiel

8.0
5.0
3.0
2.0

For "other events" if the total field is 6 or more teams then games during the Round Robin are worth 1.0 points per win for teams not making the playoffs. If tied games are not broken then 0.5 points will be awarded to each team involved in the tied game.

The point value of the above "Other Events" will be subject to a Strength of Field Multiplier. The SFM will only be used for events where there are two or more teams playing under a National Team name i.e. Team Canada 1, USA 2, Great Britain 1 etc.It will be calculated as follows: For each National team competing in the event a factor of 0.6 will be used for each team. Also the winer of the Canadian Wheelchair Championships will be considered a National Team (if 3 of 4 members are present)

Example of how the SFM can impact an event:

If there are 4 Ontario teams (and 2 must be registered with OCCTRS) playing with 2 National Teams (Team Canada 1 and Team USA 1) the SFM will be 2 times 0.6 for a total SFM of 1.2

Final Placing	Base Value	SFM	Final OCCTRS
Winner	8.0	1.2	9.6
Second place	5.0	1.2	6.0
Third place	3.0	1.2	3.6
Fourth Place	2.0	1.2	2.4
Fifth Place	0.0	0	1.0 point per win
Sixth Place	0.0	0	1.0 point per win