On June 2, 2007 an amalgamation agreement and new constitution were officially signed in Sault Ste. Marie to form the Northern Ontario Curling Association to be one strong governing body for curling from the Manitoba border to Moose Factory to Mattawa.

In the past, four associations promoted and supported curling in Northern Ontario. The Northwestern Ontario Curling Association, Northern Ontario Ladies Curling Association, the former Northern Ontario Curling Association and Temiskaming & Northern Ontario Curling Association amalgamated effective May 1, 2007.

Member curling clubs in each region elected Regional Directors to serve on NOCA’s Board of Directors. The Association's first Board of Directors includes:
    • Region 1: Muriel Anderson (Sioux Lookout); Rob Sinclair (Fort Frances)
    • Region 2: Paul Burke (Thunder Bay); Bev Junnila (Thunder Bay)
    • Region 3: Ken House (Geraldton); Sharron Lennie (Manitouwadge)
    • Region 4: Al Gemmell (Algoma Mills); Maymar Gemmell (Algoma Mills)
    • Region 5: Alan Arkilander (Sudbury); Debbie Grillanda (Azilda)
    • Region 6: Rose West (Haileybury); Bob Hardy (Iroquois Falls)
  • The Board selected Al Gemmell of Algoma Mills as President, Muriel Anderson from Sioux Lookout as Vice-President and Debbie Grillanda of Azilda as Secretary-Treasurer.NOCA hired Leslie Kerr of Atikokan as Executive Director. A logo for the new Association was unveiled on June 2, 2007.