

## Media Advisory

### The Final Leg of the Journey to the Brier Starts Wednesday

February 8, 2016

### - FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE -

**Event:** 2016 Travelers Northern Ontario Men's Provincial Championship

Dates: Wednesday, February 10 to Sunday, February 14, 2016

Venue: North Bay Granite Curling Club

#### **Details:**

- Eight of the best Men's teams from across Northern Ontario will compete in this event for the opportunity to represent Northern Ontario at the Tim Hortons Brier.
- Event Chair Mark Brown states "The North Bay Granite Club host committee is excited to host one of the best fields that the Travelers Northern Ontario Men's Provincial Championship has ever assembled. Reigning Olympic Gold Medalist "Team Jacobs" and 2016 Junior Men Silver Medalist "Team Horgan" headline a field that includes many other national participants in the Men's, Senior Men's and Mixed categories. Ticket sales have been brisk and we are eager to showcase both our curling facility and display a level of hospitality that Northern Ontario is famous for. A huge thank you goes out to many local sponsors who have embraced this elite event and of course to the many volunteers who have unselfishly come forward to commit hundreds hours of work in preparing for this event. We are assured that Northern Ontario will be well represented once again at the Tim Horton's Brier in Ottawa."
- The Travelers Men's NOCA Provincials is a round robin event, which will end with a semi and a final next weekend.
- The final game will be televised by Cogeco.
- The qualifying process for the provincials included 2 berths each from the Canadian Team Ranking System, and 3 spots each from the West Qualifier and East Qualifier.
- The Tim Hortons Brier takes place in Ottawa, March 5-13, 2016.

Results Event Site

- 30 -

Contact: Leslie Kerr

807-598-0051 (Mobile) lesliekerr@curlnoca.ca

**Attached:** Draw and Team Rosters

\_\_\_\_\_







### **Travelers NOCA Men's Championship**

### **North Bay Granite Club**

February 10 - 14, 2016

	Day	Time	Draw	Ice B	Ice C	Ice D	Ice E
	Wed.	2:00 p.m.	1	1-2	3-4	5-6	7-8
		7:00 p.m.		OPENING CEREMONIES			
		8:00 p.m.	2	6-8	5-7	2-4	1-3
	Thurs.	1:00 p.m.	3	5-4	1-8	7-3	2-6
		7:30 p.m.	4	3-6	7-2	1-5	8-4
	Fri.	11:00 a.m.	5	7-1	4-6	3-8	5-2
		6:30 p.m.	6	2-3	8-5	4-1	6-7
No Ties	Sat.	9:30 a.m.	7	4-7	6-1	8-2	3-5
		7:30 p.m.	Semi-Final		Semi-Final		
	Sun.	2:00 p.m.	Final		Final		
1 TB	Sat.	9:30 a.m.	7	4-7	6-1	8-2	3-5
		2:30 p.m.	Tiebreaker #1			Tiebreaker	
		7:30 p.m.	Semi-final		Semi-final		
	Sun.	2:00 p.m	Final		Final		
2 TB	Sat.	9:30 a.m.	7	4-7	6-1	8-2	3-5
		2:30 p.m.	Tiebreaker #1			Tiebreaker	
		7:30 p.m.	Tiebreaker #2			Tiebreaker	
	Sun.	9:00 a.m.	Semi-final		Semi-final		
		2:00 p.m.	Final		Final		

Team #	Team Name		
1	Jacobs - Community First		
2	Horgan - Copper Cliff		
3	Gelinas - Voyageur CC		
4	Koivula - Port Arthur		
5	Gordon - Sudbury		
6	Assad - Geraldton		
7	Chandler - Sudbury		
8	Johnston - Fort William		

<sup>\* 9</sup> minute pre-game practice begins 1/2 hour prior to game time

<sup>\*</sup> Teams listed first will practice first and have top of scoreboard colour

<sup>\*</sup> Hammer will be determined by a draw to the button at the end of the practice time





# 2016 Travelers Men's Provincial Championship

2016 Travelers Men's Provincial Championship						
Team	Club Name	Position	Name			
Jacobs	Community First CC	Skip	Brad Jacobs			
		Vice	Ryan Fry			
		Second	E.J. Harnden			
		Lead	Ryan Harnden			
		Coach	Caleb Flaxey			
Koivula	Port Arthur CC	Skip	Colin Koivula			
		Vice	Kory Carr			
		Second	Jordan Potts			
		Lead	Jamie Childs			
Assad	Geraldton CC	Skip	Mike Assad			
		Vice	Mitch Shallow			
		Second	Andrew Hackner			
		Lead	Dwayne Sutherland			
Johnston	Fort William CC	Skip	Dylan Johnston			
		Vice	Mike Badiuk			
		Second	Chris Briand			
		Lead	Travis Showalter			
Horgan	Copper Cliff CC	Skip	Tanner Horgan			
		Vice	Jacob Horgan			
		Second	Maxime Blais			
		Lead	Scott Foy			
		Coach	Gerry Horgan			
Chandler	Sudbury CC	Skip	Jordan Chandler			
		Vice	Matt Dumontelle			
		Second	Sandy MacEwan			
		Lead	Lee Toner			
Gelinas	Voyageur CC	Skip	Patrick Gelinas			
		Vice	Arty Trudel			
		Second	Eric Gelinas			
		Lead	Luc Gelinas			
Gordon	Sudbury CC	Skip	Robbie Gordon			
		Vice	Ron Henderson			
		Second	Dion Dumontelle			
		Lead	Doug Hong			
		Fifth	Keith Furevick			
-		-	- <del>-</del>			